Pi MusicBox won't boot on R-Pi Zero W

Hi,

Today I received my brand new R-Pi Zero W that I planned to use as a Chromecast Audio, meaning with Pi MusicBox and connected to my SPL Crimson audio interface via USB. Therefore, let me point out that this is the first raspberry machine that I ever use in my life (so you can expect some noob questions from time to time), still I have some knowledge in Linux systems and programming (C/Python/HTML/CSS/JS/PHP).
So, I formated my 4Gb class 4 microSD and installed Pi MusicBox with Etcher on it.

But I’m running into an issue when I boot my Pi Zero: The green LED is blinking 8 times (loop) which means (according to what I read on the internet) SDRAM not recognised. You need newer bootcode.bin/start.elf firmware.

I used the 0.7.0RC5 (following the build instructions on the github page) and the resulting image’s size is 922 534 400 bytes (approx. 922.5 MB). Does-it sound ok to you ? (I can provide an MD5 hash if needed)

Also, I’ve never booted successfully my pi zero as it is new, could it be this causing the problem ? Do I need to boot to Raspbian or something, update some internal firmware and it’ll work fine after this ?

Thanks for your help

You should not need to boot into Raspbian first, I’ve never heard of this (although I’ve always happened to have done it). I’d be surprised if the bootcode version on v0.7RC5 is not new enough to support the the latest hardware but maybe you could try the latest version of Raspbian as an experiment?

So i tried to boot the latest Raspbian, everything went smoothly as I could access the TTY (still, I couldn’t do an apt upgrade as I currently don’t have an external keyboard).
Thereafter, I tried to boot Pi Musicbox 0.7RC5 but ran into the same issue as the first time: no video output, only the green led blinking 8 times. Also tried with the v0.6, same issue as with the 0.7RC5…

Any idea of what’s preventing my RP Zero W to boot Pi Musicbox ?