Problems accessing files via NFS

Hi,

I am new to mopidy and have limited linux experience. I managed to get most of mopidy running without too much difficulty. Now I am trying to browse/play music from a network folder. The folder is on a Synology NAS. I did not manage to mount the folder using SMB, but it works with NFS. After putting it into fstab, it is mounted at startup and I can access it manually using ssh on the Raspberry Pi that runs mopidy.

My config-file has a single line in the [file] section:

<
media_dirs = /music/Network/flac/ | NAS
/>

“/music/Network/flac/” is the folder that the network folder is mounted in.

I am using musicbox webclient, mopidy mobile (android) and remotedy (android) for testing.

I know that mopidy uses the “mopidy” user profile and guess that it may have something to do with access rights to the shared folder. Hence, I created a user group “music” on the raspberry pi that has the users “pi” and “mopidy”. Then I changed ownership of the /music/Network/flac/ directory to this group using chown. Still, I am not sure, if that worked properly. How do I check, if mopidy has the required access rights?

What else could be the problem?

Thank you!

You could check by running:

sudo -u mopidy bash -c 'ls /music/Network/flac/'

Thank you for the hint.

When entering the line you suggested, I get a list of folders in /music/Network/flac. I tried

sudo -u mopidy bash -c ‘ls -la /music/Network/flac’

for more information on access rights. The result is as an example:

drwxrwxrwx 3 1026 users 4096

It appears that user 1026 owns these folders.

I tried

sudo chown :music /music/Network/flac

The result is (translated from German):

“chown: the group of ‘/music/Network/flac’ is changed: the operation is not allowed”

I do not recall seing this line before, but obviously I cannot change ownership of this folder.

Here are some other things I just tried:

On the Synology NAS I configured “map all users to admin” for the NFS shared folder.