Getting started with Mopidy-API-Explorer

I’m an enthusiastic noob with Mopidy running on two Raspberry Pi Musiboxes in two different sides of my house. There have been a few times when I’ve wanted to switch ongoing playback from one of the musicboxes to another if a party is generally moving from one part of the house to another. I can do this by just stopping playback on one and setting up the same playlist on another, but I was wondering if there might be a more elegant solution.

From reading the forum it seems as though I should be able to create a simple app or script on my android phone or laptop that queries one musicbox about what its current position in a track and playlist, then issues a command to stop, then sets the same track and playlist up on another musicbox and issues a command to play using JSON commands over http.

The problem is that I have absolutely no idea how I’d begin to start experimenting with this. I’ve installed the mopidy-api-explorer extension on one of the musicboxes but I have no idea how to begin working with it. Can anyone give me a sense of what tools and skills I’d need to start learning in order to take the first steps on this project?

Sounds like a fun project and a useful one. You could write a simple webclient to do this. You’d install it on one (or both musicboxes) and write some javascript to talk to the Mopidy instances. There are lots of existing webclients out there so lots of examples. And you could easily use it on both your laptop and phone. The Web API explorer and Mopidy documentation is the best place to start. If you wanted to extend the musicbox-webclient with this feature I’d be very happy to include it.

Alternatively write a shell script that uses mpc to talk to Mopidy’s MPD frontend. You could only use this on your laptop. It might be easier to get going but probably less easy to actually use.