File/media_dirs are not scanned for mp3 files

Hi, I am new to mopidy and I have currently installed it to my new Raspberry PI.

It runs as service under user mopidy. I am however unable to see the media files in my media directories.

I have mounted an USB drive to my raspberry PI, which is accessible on path:

/media/pi/SHIMON_USB

My /etc/mopidy/mopidy.conf looks like this:

[core]
cache_dir = /var/cache/mopidy
config_dir = /etc/mopidy
data_dir = /var/lib/mopidy

[logging]
config_file = /etc/mopidy/logging.conf
debug_file = /var/log/mopidy/mopidy-debug.log

[local]
data_dir = /var/lib/mopidy/local
media_dir = /var/lib/mopidy/media

[m3u]
playlists_dir = /var/lib/mopidy/playlists

[file]
enabled = true
media_dirs =
  $XDG_MUSIC_DIR|Music
  ~/|Home
  /media/pi/SHIMON_USB|Shimon USB
show_dotfiles = false
follow_symlinks = false
metadata_timeout = 1000

I have restarted the mopidy service using:

sudo service mopidy restart

and then scanned the local files using

sudo mopidyctl local scan

I am accessing the mopidy MPD through the RompR web extension, but I am unable to see any of the mp3 files placed on the USB stick. (I can see only one test mp3 file placed inside my /var/lib/mopidy/media).

Did I misunderstand some part of the configuration?

@jodal, @kingosticks - seems like you are the right persons to ask. Could you please check my configuration?

Thanks, shimon

Using the file backend, there’s no need for mopidyctl local scan; all files will be available instantly, but only via Mopidy’s “browse” interface. No search, no support for MPD list commands, etc. However, you should be able to see a top-level directory named “Files” with sub-directories “Music”, “Home” and (hopefully) “Shimon USB”.

I never used RompR, but IIRC there were some integration issues with Mopidy, and I don’t know if it supports the browse interface properly. So I’d suggest you just try one of the various other clients available and see if you can access your files.